Previous Artists in Residence




February 20 – March 10

Merryn Apma is a highly influential Aboriginal artist who resides in Tilba NSW. Merryn opened an Aboriginal Art Gallery in August 2015 where she showcases Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists from all over Australia. A big heart within a tight knit community, Merryn has been a powerful leader for Aboriginal issues since the famous Long Walk led by former AFL footballer Michael Long from Melbourne to Canberra in 2004.

Brent Learned

February 7 – March  11

Brent Learned is an award winning and collected Native American artist who was born and reared in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He is an enrolled member of the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma. Brent graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelors degree in Fine Arts.



Angela Brennen

November 8 – December 23

Angela Brennan was born in Ballarat in 1960. She went on to complete a Fine Arts degree, in painting, at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in 1982 and a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in philosophy, at the University of Melbourne in 1992.

Albert Yonathan Setyawan

August 14 – October 31 2016

Albert Yonathan Setyawan is an Indonesian artist living in Japan & has most recently completed his Masters in Ceramics at Kyoto Seika University.  Albert’s artistic focus is in the influence of religion as well as the religious iconography within artistic practices. His main mediums are ceramics & drawing.

Sue Hewat

May – October 2016

EASS 2016 – Anita McIntyre Ceramic Studio Residency Award

Sue is a Canberra based ceramic artist and a recent graduate from the Australian National University.  She holds a Bachelor of Visual Arts (Honours)

Mark Dober

11 Apr – 15 May 2016

Dr Mark Dober has a PhD in Fine Art (Painting) from Monash University and is a practicing artist. He lives in Melbourne.

Sally Spencer

1 – 31 March 2016

Sally Spencer is a sculptor, installation artist and image maker, drawing inspiration from the natural world.

Idil Abdullahi

5 – 26 January 2016

2016 Arts Residency Grant

Belconnen Arts Centre, the Islamic Society of Belconnen and Strathnairn Arts, ACT Arts Residency Grant to provide support for a residency for nationally recognised Australian Muslim artist Idil Abdullahi  to build upon her ceramics practice.

Richilde Flavell

Anita McIntyre Ceramic Studio Residency Award

16 Sept – end January 2016

Strathnairn Arts has awarded a residency to Richilde Flavell, a graduate of the ANU School of Art as part of the Emerging Artists Support Scheme. This award honours Anita McIntyre who has been instrumental in the development and success of Strathnairn Arts since the 1990’s.


Suzie Bleach and Andy Townsend

14 September – 15 November 2015

Braidwood based sculptors Suzie and Andy will be working to complete a large number of sculptures for their show at the Canberra Museum and Art Gallery (CMAG)  in November/December 2015. They will be working in the Strathnairn Art’s Foundry. They were awarded the Allens Arthur Robinson People’s Choice Prize of $5,000 for their sculpture, The Adaptable Migrant as part of 2010 Sculpture by the Sea in Sydney.


Coll Minogue &  Robert Sanderson

16 July – 12 September 2015

Respected international Woodfire artists, Coll Minogue and Robert Sanderson will be continuing the emphasis on wood-firing at Strathnairn Arts as a follow on from the Ceramics Triennale. They are the editors of The Logbook, an international wood-fired ceramics publication. They will lead a five day firing in August, firing our modified Bourrey box woodfire kiln.


Fred Olsen

25 May – 14 July 2015

Invited international woodfire artist for Stepping Up: 14th Australian Ceramics Triennale 2015, Fred will conduct a workshop to build a ‘fast fire Freddie’, a smaller wood fire kiln that can be fired in approximately 15 hours rather than 3 – 5 days. Fred will also hold a master woodfire workshop on using a small woodfire kiln for the Triennale prior to the conference.

Strathnairn Arts will also host the exhibition Fred Olsen: A Profile in Gallery One 8 July – 2 August




Sui Jackson

September – November 2013, Papermaking

 Gabriella Hegyes

May 2013


Adam Knoche

5 June – 29 July 2012

Markus Böhm and Ute Böhm

2 February – 27 February 2012


Robert Puruntatameri

February – April 2011


Brenda Danbrook

September – November 2010

Tony Nankervis

June – August 2010

Roseline Verdines

March- May 2010


Owen Rye

September 2009

Lindsay Oesterritter



Stefan Jakob

February – April 2008


Daniel Evans

July – August 2007

Fergus Stewart

January – February 2007


Ryozo Shibata

October – December 2006